Study Blue Review

This week, we were given the freedom to explore any thing related to edtech. I have always wanted to be able to find a tool that I can use to help me study and connect to other students. I have heard of a few tools, but I wanted to find something new, that we have not discussed in 355 and 455, and I think I found one that everyone would quite enjoy, and it is super easy to use. The tool is called StudyBlue.

This online tool allows you to connect with other students who may be taking the same classes as you, and allows you upload your own notes and flashcards to help other students study or regain information that you may forget. Now you can sign up as a teacher as well but for the purpose of my blog I took the student route. Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 10.56.38 AM

Once I signed up as a student using my google account, you can also use Facebook. It gave me the option to fill in which university I go to, as well as the class I was taking and the professor who was teaching the class I had picked, for my exploration, I used my religious studies class, and my professor is Kevin Bond, who by the way is an awesome prof and definitely recommend taking a class with him. Anyways Once there a bunch of terms on flash cards showed up and I then clicked study now. Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 10.59.29 AM

Once there a term will pop up I went through a couple and just guessed at what definition was. The term above in the picture is the definition to Culture. You can flip the card over using the spacebar or by clicking the flip arrows. Now from there you can click the thumbs up if you got it right or thumbs down if you did not. After you’ve studied for as long as you want, you can click finished study and it actually displays your “stats”

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 10.59.47 AM

I only did a few questions and guessed on most but it shows how many I got right and how many I got wrong as as it shows how much I have mastered the subject. I also really liked how it has the option not to just study again but to only study the ones I got wrong.

I really enjoyed this tool and recommend it for anyone who is willing to sign up and anybody who wants to get the extra help when studying. This tool is free however there is an option to pay, and when you pay it allows you to use Studyblue on you phone as well as upload your own notes for others to study. It also gets rid of ads and access to more study material provided by StudyBlue.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 10.58.09 AM

Thanks for reading and feel free to comment and try out the tool.

One thought on “Study Blue Review

  1. I have never heard of this before, but it is absolutely so cool! I think this is a great resource for students at any age. Also, if students are taking online classes, they can use this as a resource because they might not know anybody taking that course. It would also just be a nice bonus for studying. It’s unfortunate that I’m just hearing about his now because I would have loved to use this in high school and university. Thanks for sharing an underrated app!

    Like

Leave a Reply

